Assuris' governance structure includes an Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) which consists of seven representatives from member life insurance companies. The representatives are elected by the members at Assuris’ Annual General Meeting.

The IAC ensures that the Assuris Board of Directors is aware of member views; the Committee was established to encourage the exchange of information, improve communications and retain the input of members.

The Industry Advisory Committee representatives are:

Ronald Beettam (Chair)

President & CEO,
The Equitable Life Insurance Company of Canada

Michael Doughty

President & CEO,
Manulife Canada

Jacques Goulet

Sun Life Financial Canada

Todd Lawrence

President & CEO,

Peter McCarthy

President & CEO,
BMO Life Assurance Company

Christian Mercier

President & CEO,
The Union Life, Mutual Assurance Company

Jacques Potvin

Executive Vice President, CFO and Chief Actuary,
Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc.